begins & ends with the worship of him that sits upon the throne. He & Christ are worshipped for their benefactions. Christ is worshipped as he is the Lamb of God who was slain for us & hath redeemed us with his blood. The seven lamps are not worshipped tho they represent the seven spirits before the throne from whom Iohn wishes grace & peace to the Churches. God gave this Revelation to Iesus Christ & he sent & signified it by his Messenger to his servant Iohn: but when Iohn fell down to worship this prophetic Messenger he was forbidden. See thou dost not, saith the Messenger; I am thy fellow servant, & of thy brethren [the Prophets] that have the testimony of Iesus: worship God: For the testimony of Iesus is the spirit of prophesy.

© 2024 The Newton Project

Professor Rob Iliffe
Director, AHRC Newton Papers Project

Scott Mandelbrote,
Fellow & Perne librarian, Peterhouse, Cambridge

Faculty of History, George Street, Oxford, OX1 2RL - newtonproject@history.ox.ac.uk

Privacy Statement

  • University of Oxford
  • Arts and Humanities Research Council
  • JISC